Please Wait a Moment

Annual State Bar Awards

The Annual Awards recognize those who have distinguished themselves or who have made exemplary contributions to the State Bar or legal profession in the past year.

Thank you to all who submitted your nominations! Results will be shared soon!

The awards will be presented during the virtual 2021 Annual Meeting event on Friday, October 8th, which will be a hybrid event. 

Judge Sarah M. Singleton Distinguished Service Award
Recognizes attorneys who have provided valuable service and contributions to the legal profession, the State Bar of New Mexico and the public over a significant period of time.

Distinguished Bar Service Award–Nonlawyer 
Recognizes nonlawyers who have provided valuable service and contributions to the legal profession over a significant period of time.

Justice Pamela B. Minzner Professionalism Award 
Recognizes attorneys and/or judges who, over long and distinguished legal careers, have by their ethical and personal conduct exemplified for their fellow attorneys the epitome of  professionalism.

Outstanding Legal Organization or Program Award 
Recognizes outstanding or extraordinary law-related organizations or programs that serve the legal profession and the public.

Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year Award 
Awarded to attorneys who have, during the formative stages of their legal careers by their ethical and personal conduct, exemplified for their fellow attorneys the epitome of professionalism; nominee has demonstrated commitment to clients’ causes and to public service, enhancing the image of the legal profession in the eyes of the public; nominee must have practiced no more than five years or must be no more than 36 years of age.

Robert H. LaFollette Pro Bono Award 
Presented to an attorney who has made an exemplary contribution of time and effort, without compensation, to provide legal assistance over his or her career to people who could not afford the assistance of an attorney.

Justice Seth D. Montgomery Distinguished Judicial Service Award 
Recognizes judges who have distinguished themselves through long and exemplary service on the bench and who have significantly advanced the administration of justice or improved the relations between the bench and the bar; generally given to judges who have or soon will be retiring.