Intellectual Property Section Report

To: NM State Bar

From: Talia Kosh, IP Chair 2017

Date December 19 2017

<u>Summary</u>: This memorandum summarizes the activities undertaken by the **Intellectual Property Law Section, Board of Directors** for the period of January 1, 2017, through December 31, 2017. For a complete record of activities, please review the meeting minutes from monthly board meetings. Board meetings were held on the 4th Tuesday of each month.

Officers: Officers for 2017 were: Talia Kosh (Chair)): Justin Muehlmeyer (Chair-Elect); Kevin Bieg (Secretary); (Ian Bezpalko (Treasurer/Web Site Liaison); Gina Constant (CLE Liaison). Other IP Section Board members were: Jeffrey Albright (Past Chair), Michele Huff, Kevin Soules, Breanna Contreras and Marcos Santamaria Aviles as Law School Liaison.

Finances: The finances of the IP Section remain sound. As of the report from November, 2017, the Section balance was \$3877.77.

The favorable balance resulted from dues made during the year, voluntary contributions made to the section and the savings of telephone conferencing facilities for the IP Section meetings.

2017 Activities:

- Jeffrey Albright presented a lecture at the New Mexico State Bar in July, 2017, on Artificial Intelligence.
- The Section presented its first off-site annual CLE at the Hyatt Regency, inviting the US Patent and Trademark Office to participate in the seminar titled, "USPTO/Intellectual Property Section Seminar." It was a well-received event and included 62 participant lawyers and non-lawyers. This was the first event the Section has curated for New Mexico's entrepreneurial community interested in receiving information about patents and trademarks.
- Reserved a date for the NM Lawyer issue for IP insert for August 15, 2018 issue.
- Reserved a date for the IP section's all-day CLE for 2018.
- Solicited applications for board vacancies and appointed three new board members.
- Met with the NM Bar to determine whether the IP Section could be involved in a partnership with NM Law School for an IP Legal Clinic.
- Elections: The nominating committee comprised:

Justin Meuhlmeyer. - chair of nominating committee Breanna Contreras - Member Merit Bennett- off-Board member

The IP Section Board for 2018 shall be comprised of:

- 1) Justin Muehlmeyer (Chair)
- 2) Jeffrey Albright
- 3) Ian Bezpalko
- 4) Gina Constant
- 5) Kevin Soules
- 6) Breanna Houghton
- 7) Svitlana Anderson (New)
- 8) Helen Baca (New-pending membership in NM State Bar)
- 9) Past Chair: Talia Kosh
- 10) YLD Liaison: Vacant
- 11) Law Student Member: Marco Santamaria

Next Meeting date, time - January 22, 2018 at noon, location TBA